VEA Board President Resigns from Board of Directors
May 2, 2019 | News | Press Releases | Uncategorized | Upcoming Events |
Vacancy to be filled by Board at May 2019 meeting

VEA Board Member Gazsy Resigns

PAHRUMP, Nev. (May 2, 2019) – Valley Electric Association Board President Ken Derschan of Sandy Valley resigned from the Cooperative’s Board of Directors Wednesday, Interim Chief Executive Dick Peck announced today.

Derschan cited personal reasons for his decision.

Ken Derschan

Vice President Rick Johnson of District 3 (Beatty) becomes President, according to the succession plan. The Board is expected to vote on a new slate of officers for the 2019-20 year at its next meeting, said Peck.

Any VEA member who wishes to be considered for the open seat must be a resident of District 5 (Sandy Valley, Mountain Springs, Trout Canyon). Applications for the position will be accepted through Thursday, May 30, 2019. The Board will appoint Derschan’s successor from among the applicants as outlined in the VEA bylaws (Article 4, Section 7), said Peck.

The District 5 seat will be up for election in March 2020.

Derschan served as President from May 2018 until his resignation. He was appointed to the VEA Board of Directors from District 5 in August 2015. In March 2017, he was elected by members of District 5 to a three-year term on the six-member Board.

The following notice will be mailed to members in District 5 (Sandy Valley, Mountain Springs, Trout Canyon) as soon as it can be processed.


Board of Directors Vacancy

Valley Electric Association Board of Directors

District 5 – (Sandy Valley, Mountain Springs, Trout Canyon)


The purpose of this notice is to make members of Valley Electric Association District 5 aware that an opening exists on the Board of Directors of the Cooperative in District 5. The process for filling Board vacancies is articulated in the VEA bylaws.



SECTION 7. Vacancies. Unless otherwise (prescribed) in these Bylaws, a vacancy occurring in the Board of Directors shall be filled by the affirmative vote of a majority of the remaining directors for the unexpired portion of the term.

Any member in good standing who lives in District 5 is eligible for appointment to the position. If you would like to be considered for the Board position, please send a letter explaining your interest and qualifications to one of the following addresses:

Valley Electric Association, Inc.

PO Box 237

Pahrump, NV 89041


Applications will be accepted through the end of business, Thursday, May 30, 2019. The Board of Directors is expected to fill the appointment at the May Board meeting, which will be conducted Friday, May 31, 2019 at Valley Electric Association, 800 East Highway 372, Pahrump, NV 89048.

Thank you.



Get a fresh perspective on energy in rural Nevada.
Sign up for our regular updates today.

Touchstone Energy® Cooperatives is a national network of electric cooperatives across 46 states that provides resources and leverages partnerships to help member cooperatives and their employees better engage and serve their members. By working together, Touchstone Energy cooperatives stand as a source of power and information to their 32 million member-owners every day.

©2019 Valley Electric Association, Inc | All rights Reserved
800 E. Hwy 372, Pahrump, NV 89048

24/7 PHONE: (775) 727-5312
LOCAL TOLL FREE: (800) 742-3330
MAIN FAX: (775) 727-6320