Groenert Appointed to VEA Board

bonnie groenert image
Bonnie Groenert-Amargosa Valley

Bonnie Groenert, former postmaster at Amargosa Valley, has been appointed to the Board of Directors of Valley Electric Association.

Groenert will fill out the unexpired term of former Board President Dave Hall, who resigned as District 2 Director in October citing family health reasons. District 2 includes Amargosa Valley, Crystal and Ash Meadows.

Board President Kathleen Keyes cited Groenert’s experience as postmaster and involvement in the Amargosa community as primary reasons for her appointment. “We believe that Bonnie will be a good liaison between VEA and the membership in her district, and she will be a great representative for Amargosa Valley.”

Groenert said she was excited to receive the appointment and is energized to serve. “My public visibility is well established being the postmaster in Amargosa for the past 13 years,” she said.

The Board made the decision on Nov. 14 following interviews with candidates. Groenert is expected to be sworn in at the Nov. 21 Board of Directors meeting.

Hall was re-elected to a second term in March 2019, so Groenert’s term will expire in 2022.

“The exciting things done by (VEA) in the past few years have invigorated my interest,” said Groenert. Bringing high-speed internet service to Amargosa Valley has been a “huge improvement to my life” and to others, said added.

The fact that the Amargosa Valley post office is still open is testament to Groenert’s ability to get things done. During the 2009 postal reorganization, Amargosa was slated to be closed. “I was able to prevent the closing of the Amargosa Valley post office by urging community responses to their representative.

“As a Board member, I’ll try to get others involved. I’ll be reaching out to members in Amargosa any way I can think of.”

Groenert served as Vice President of the United Postmasters and Managers of America for the Nevada (UPMA) Chapter for 12 years. She retired as postmaster in December 2018.

She also has served as secretary/treasurer of the Amargosa Amateur Radio Club for 10 years. A resident of Amargosa Valley since 2006, she is a former member of the VEA Ambassador Program.

Groenert has two sons, both of whom live in Las Vegas.

All six members who began 2019 as members of the VEA Board of Directors have either resigned or retired during the year. John Maurer of Fish Lake Valley (District 4) – who did not seek re-election in 2019 – resigned in April a few weeks before his term on the Board was to expire. Board members Pete Gazsy of South Pahrump (District 1) and Ken Derschan of District 5 (Sandy Valley), resigned in May. Gazsy’s seat was filled by Michelle Caird and Derschan’s seat by Terry D’Antonio. The remaining days of Maurer’s term were filled by Kathleen Keyes, who was unopposed in the election to replace Maurer. Rick Johnson of District 3 (Beatty) resigned in August. Rob Shirley was appointed to fill the District 3 seat. Dave Dawson of District 6 (North Pahrump) retired from the Board in early November. Applications for the District 6 seat will be accepted through Dec. 2, and the Board is expected to have that seat filled in December.