VEA Board Member Dave Dawson Retires

District 6, North Pahrump board member retires

Dave Dawson former Director of District 6 (North Pahrump)

Dave Dawson, a member of the Valley Electric Association Board of Directors for District 6 (North Pahrump) since 2008, has retired, it was announced today by Kathleen Keyes, President of the VEA Board of Directors.

Dawson said he was retiring a few months earlier than he had previously planned. “I had announced several weeks ago of my decision not to seek re-election and to retire in April, but for personal reasons, I have decided to retire now.” Dawson was re-elected to his current term in 2017.

“We are grateful for Dave’s commitment to the Cooperative and service to VEA members for these past 12 years, and wish him the very best in his retirement,” said Keyes.

The process of finding a successor to complete Dawson’s unexpired term is underway, said Keyes. As spelled out in Article IV, Section 7 of the VEA bylaws, members who live within District 6 are eligible to be appointed by the remaining Board members. The District 6 Board position will be up for election in March 2020. The current term expires in May 2020.

All members in District 6 will receive a notification of the Board vacancy by direct mail.

The deadline for applications to be submitted for the vacant seat is Monday, Dec. 2, 2019. Candidate interviews will be conducted Dec. 9, said Keyes. The successor is expected to be named at the Dec. 19, 2019 regular meeting of the VEA Board of Directors.

Members of District 6 who are interested in serving can submit a letter of application to:

VEA Board President Kathy Keyes
Valley Electric Association
PO Box 237
Pahrump, NV 89041

In addition, a link is posted on the VEA website this week where District 6 members can submit applications for the open Board seat here.

Members who have already provided notice of intent to run for the open seat – and who wish to be considered for the vacancy – should complete the form at the above link.

Dawson is the sixth member of the six-person VEA Board to resign in 2019. John Maurer of Fish Lake Valley (District 4) – who did not seek re-election in 2019 – resigned in April a few weeks before his term on the Board was to expire. Board members Pete Gazsy of South Pahrump (District 1) and Ken Derschan of District 5 (Sandy Valley), resigned in May. Gazsy’s seat was filled by Michelle Caird and Derschan’s seat by Terry D’Antonio. The remaining days of Maurer’s term were filled by Kathleen Keyes, who was unopposed in the election to replace Maurer. Rick Johnson of District 3 (Beatty) resigned in August. Rob Shirley was appointed to fill the District 3 seat. Board President Dave Hall of District 2 (Amargosa Valley) resigned in October. The vacancy for the District 2 position is expected to be filled at the Nov. 21 regular VEA Board of Directors meeting.