Rick Johnson Resigns from VEA Board

Beatty board member cites personal, health reasons for decision

Rick Johnson former Director of District 3 (Beatty)

Richard “Rick” Johnson, a longtime member of Valley Electric Association Board of Directors from District 3 (Beatty), has resigned from the Board, effective August 29. Johnson cited personal and health reasons for his decision.

“It is with the deepest regret and with a saddened heart that I submit my letter of resignation from the Valley Electric Association Board of Directors,” Johnson wrote in his letter of resignation to VEA Board President Dave Hall. Johnson will undergo surgery this month, followed by recovery and further treatment. As a result, “I do not believe I can devote the time and attention needed to fulfill the responsibilities and duties required of a diligent and conscientious director of VEA,” Johnson said.

Johnson has served on the VEA Board since 2007. He was most recently re-elected to a three-year term in March 2018.

“I have loved the opportunities and experiences being of service to the members of this Co-op have afforded me,” Johnson wrote in his letter. “I have relished the time I have been able to spend with the wonderful employees of Valley Electric, the residences of my community and the other districts, and the extraordinary individuals who I have had the pleasure of serving with as directors over the past 12 years.”

Hall said he accepted Johnson’s resignation with regret and appreciated the contributions Johnson made to the Co-op. “For 12 years, Rick has represented the Beatty area on the VEA Board with great distinction. Rick always put the interests of the membership first. He will be missed. The Board’s challenge will be to find a replacement for Rick who is as dedicated as Rick to serving all members, and especially those in District 3.”

The process of finding a successor to complete Johnson’s term has already begun, said Hall. As spelled out in Article IV, Section 7 of the VEA bylaws, members who live within District 3 are eligible to be appointed to serve out Johnson’s unexpired term by the remaining Board members. The VEA Board will accept applications through Sept. 27, 2019. Notices will be mailed to all members in District 3.

Those interested in serving can submit a letter of application to:
VEA Board President Dave Hall
c/o Valley Electric Association
PO Box 237
Pahrump, NV 89041

In addition, a link had been created on the VEA website where District 3 members can submit applications electronically for the open Board seat.

Before a vote is taken on a successor, a committee of the Board will be appointed to screen the applications, and finalists will be interviewed by the Board. Hall said he hopes to have a new Board member seated by the October 2019 Board meeting.

Johnson is the fourth member of the six-person VEA Board to resign in 2019. John Maurer of Fish Lake Valley (District 4) – who did not seek re-election in 2019 – resigned in April a few weeks before his term on the Board was to expire. Board members Pete Gazsy of South Pahrump (District 1) and Ken Derschan of District 5 (Sandy Valley), resigned in May. Gazsy’s seat was filled by Michelle Caird and Derschan’s seat by Terry D’Antonio. The remaining days of Maurer’s term were filled by Kathleen Keyes, who was unopposed in the election to replace Maurer.

Contact Michael Hengel