2019 Valley Electric Scholarship Winners

From left, Zoe Bertz, Mary Duff, Jacob Henry, Sarah Mason, Trevyn Wombaker and Samantha Thompson.

For 12 years, Valley Electric Association has awarded post-secondary education scholarships to assist the cooperative’s members and their children to help them fulfill their educational goals.

To be eligible for a VEA scholarship, candidates or their parents must be active members of VEA.

The 2019 winners were announced at the annual meeting. The applicants submitted a 500-word essay, a 100-word statement of goals, grade-point average, a copy of their high school transcript, two letters of recommendation and school and community involvement. A committee made up of representatives from the VEA Ambassador Program judged the entries. The Winners were:

Vocational / Technical Scholarship

  • Trevyn Wombaker of Pahrump and Jacob Henry of Amargosa Valley: $1,000 per year for two years.

Academeic Scholarship

  • Samantha Thompson and Sarah Mason, both of Pahrump: $1,000 per year for four years.

Continuing Education Scholarship

  • Zoe Bertz and Mary Duff, both of Pahrump: $500 for one year.